Run to Paradise

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AWrW3qJ2HOA

(I’ve decided that since I’m doing a song title kind of theme, I should include a link to the song in the blog post, so that’s what that link is. FYI, my favourite song for about 2 years when I was a senior at high school. It’s and oldy but goody, lol.)

Image

My poor blog is feeling neglected, so I thought I’d better make an effort to get back in the habit, so to speak. Sadly, I have a few things going on at the moment that I’m not ready to talk about yet, so this post is going to be about the weather. Lame, I know. I feel like I’m conversing with a long lost friend and we’ve run out of things to say so we are reduced to discussing the weather!

In my defence, it’s the weather and the scenery so that redeems it slightly, right? Like the pic at the top there. I’m very much a point and shoot kind of photo taker, but the autumn colours were just so perfect on this day I just had to stop and take a pic. Some of my wedding pics were taken under this bridge. Under, because it rained the whole day of my wedding. Yep, at almost the exact time of year. So I could have had photos that looked like this. Instead, I got slightly waterlogged shots under the bridge. Like a troll. Good times.

Moving on. I turned 40 in June, and I decided the perfect birthday present to myself would be to run away from home for a weekend in a hotel. My husband was going to stay home and watch the kids but at the last minute my parents came and looked after them, so we both went. I wish I’d thought to take a pic of the hotel room, but I’m not that kind of person. It was nice though. Nowhere near as nice as the scenery we saw when we went for a drive the next day, but nice none the less.

The hotel was in an area called Fiordland, on the edge of a lake at the base of the mountains, so pretty picturesque as you can imagine. The weather was awful when we got up, freezing and foggy, but we had decided to go to Milford since neither of us had been there, and we were doing it regardless. Fortified with a yummy breakfast from a nearby cafe we headed off and quickly left the fog behind to see some pretty amazing sights of the frost and snow.

Image

This isn’t the lake we were staying next to, it’s a smaller one a bit further down the road. I wish I could remember what it was called. We stopped because there were a ton of Canadian geese floating on the water. Apparently they took a wrong turn somewhere.

 

 

 

 

Image

Random mountain photo. There were so many, and a lot that were nicer than this one, but I got out of the car to take this photo, and promptly stood in a snow drift. I was wearing open toed shoes, because I my other shoes didn’t go with my outfit. (lame I know, hubs harangued me for that choice believe me!) So this pic is getting posted no matter how bad it is since I suffered so much taking it!

Image

 

 

 

 

The Mirror lakes. Fairly unoriginal name, but you can see why they are called that. Some European tourists laughed their heads off at me here when they saw my shoes. Not sure why.

Image

 

 

 

More Mirror lakes. I took a kazillion pics here, it was gorgeous.

Image

 

 

 

 

Next we drove through the Homer tunnel. An unlined granite tunnel that takes you just over a mile through a mountain. I did not enjoy this. Felt very claustrophobic and there were huge icicles hanging off the top which, while pretty, made me think that it wasn’t sealed. Freaked myself out!

Image

Saw this little fellow in a carpark on the other side of the tunnel. He’s a Kea and frankly I think they should be our national bird instead of the Kiwi coz they are awesome! Feisty little things, getting into everything, including stealing your windscreen wipers if they get on your car for long enough! This one wanted the muffin I had in the car and nearly hopped in the car with me! I had to shoo him away. Cute though. There were big signs saying not to fed them, but they were pretty well fed looking to me

Image

Mitre Peak in the Milford Sound. Quite a famous landmark in New Zealand and both my husband and I were a bit unimpressed. We both felt the drive there had been so spectacular, that the destination was almost a let down!

ImageStopped on the way back to the hotel and took this as the evening fog was starting to roll in.

After we got back to the hotel, we went out for a spectacularly good dinner. A pretty damn good day for me. Not that I don’t love hanging out with my kids, but this was just so peaceful and beautiful, it totally replenished my energy and spirit

Oh, and just since I seem to be on a frenzy of weather and scenery, when I went to pick up my kids from their grandparents house a few days later, it was foggy and freezing there too, -8degC both days I was there. So we would have a spa every morning to warm up for the day. Here’s a few of the pics I took in my parents garden.Image

Image

Image

Image

We would hang our bathing suits over the trellis next to the spa when we got out, and then have to break them off later because they would be frozen onto it. Awesome stuff!

Well there we go. A blog post about the weather. This is what I am reduced to. I apologise. On the plus side, surely the next one can only be an improvement right? I really want to try to post regularly so that my posts aren’t hopelessly sporadic, so I’ll talk to you soon, OK?

5 responses to “Run to Paradise

  1. This. Loved the photos! Will confess to stealing the pic of the frozen roses in your mum’s garden. Lovely post! Makes me realize how far I’ve yet to travel before I see everywhere I’d like. *sigh* Perhaps some day I’ll get there for a look around. The world seems to get smaller every day, and I am able to at least imagine visiting you in your lovely country. 🙂

    • Yes I have to say, considering my complete lack of talent in the photography dept. I was pretty happy wth the rose pic. I adiot I yearn for the days when I was unencumbered and could travel wherever, when ever. But I’ll take what I can get, and a weekend away with scenery like that is pretty damn good. Thanks for commenting hun 🙂

  2. Probably the most interesting I’ve ever read about the weather. Love how you intergrate your story with it. Sounds like an awesome weekend.
    Nice to see the scenery too. I always forget to take pictures.
    Love it!

Leave a Reply

