Runaway Train

 

ImageOK, so it wasn’t actually a runaway train, but I’m going for a song title theme, and it was the first one I thought of!

Last weekend my employers made up for the lack of a party at Christmas by taking us on a train ride. The Kingston Flyer is a famous train in New Zealnd as it is a surviving steam train from the time when trains were the main mode of transport around the area. We are a young country so having something that’s been running since 1865 is significant. I’ve never been on a steam train before and my kids haven’t been on any kind of train so it was an adventure for all of us.

Image

The kids were a bit over excited by it all, my son especially. I took this photo four times and finally gave up trying to get a decent one because he just could not stop being silly!

Once we got on the train there was the inevitable barrage of questions as to what each little thing was, of which I knew the answer to about 50%! Pretty impressive of me considering there was no information provided at all,(my only complaint about the whole day).

Image

My daughter was fascinated by the view out of the window, when she could sit still long enough to look at it, but once the novelty wore off, I was very glad I’d bought along her colouring books

 

 

Image

 

 

 

The view from the train window while still at the station

 

 

 

 

We travelled from Fairlight station to Kingston approx an hour in total. While the combination of steam and smoke from the engine weren’t particularly fun, I’d do it again in a heartbeat, it was a fantastic family outing.

Image

 

My son was getting a bit bored so i took him out onto the platform and then couldn’t get him back inside!

 

 

 

 

Image

 

 

View from the platform as we approach the lake

Image

 

 

 

 

 

Kingston station

 

ImageAfter the train trip, all of the staff and families headed to the Garston pub for lunch. The food consisted of hors d’oeuvres type dishes that just kept comng, which we ate sitting in the beer garden in the sun. Spent the afternoon relaxing in the sun with a couple of cold beers and some good company, something that I don’t get to do all that often these days.

Gotta say, my employers got it right on this one, what a great way to spend a Saturday!

4 responses to “Runaway Train

  1. What a fantastic outing for all of you! Looks like the kids got an adventure, indeed! I have to admit, I’m a bit jealous. I’ve never had the privilege of being on a train, either, so I’m glad you shared this. You live in a lovely country, and the scenery was magnificent. *hugs* thanks for sharing, sweetpea!

    • You are most welcome 🙂 I’ve finally replaced my broken camera but the new one is taking some getting used to. Hopefully the picture quality will improve a bit by the time I do another ‘scenic’ type post.
      I love train rides. Harks back to bygone eras. I was talking to a guy that said they wanted to combine the train ride with a ride on the Earnslaw, which is also steam powered from the same time frame, but apparently it took 5hrs return and people don’t have time to do it. That shocks me. We have all this time saving technology, and yet we can’t spare the time to have a day out with family or friends to take in a bit of history and some magnificent scenery? It’s sad that we have come to this

Leave a Reply

